Skip Navigation
Texas Counties Deliver
The Medina County Historical Commission

The Medina County Commissioners Court will appoint a County Historical Commission (CHC) for the purpose of maintaining and conducting programs suggested by the Commissioners Court and the Texas Historical Commission for the preservation of the County’s historic culture resources. In accordance with the THC, the purpose of the MCHC shall be the identification and recognition of historically significant sites, events, and individuals of Medina County; as well as, support and promote, whenever possible, the purpose of Texas Historical Commission. These goals may be accomplished through a variety of activities including, but not limited to, placement of markers, surveys of historical buildings and sites, preservation of the county's heritage through written and oral history, and promotion of education to the citizens of the county and its visitors.
 Name Title Contact Information
Robert Hancock
Chairman click here to Email
(830) 931-9276
Bradford Boehme
Vice-Chairman click here to Email
Peter Baron
Co-Marker Chair  
John Bergman
Margaret Bergman Member

Jacque Conrad
Scott Conrad
Thomas Fillinger Member  
Priscilla Hancock
James E. Havel
Patricia Havel
Phil King
Joe Manak
Assoc. Member   
Diane Mann  Member   
Debbie Payne 
Larry Stacy Member  
Sandra Stacy Member  
Jonell Taylor Member  
Ruberta Vera
Chuck Friesenhahn Member  

For information on both the Medina County Historical Marker Guidelines and The State of Texas Historical Marker Guidelines contact one of our Co-Marker Chairmen:

Bradford Boehme or Peter Baron.    

Click here for a list of Medina County Historical Markers 


CONTACTS:  Amy Hammons, Texas Historical Commission,                             (512) 475-2692

DATE:        June 26, 2017


AUSTIN, Texas - The Texas Historical Commission (THC) recognized the Medina County Historical Commission (CHC) with a Distinguished Service Award (DSA) for the 2016 year of service.  The THC issues DSA’s each year to CHC’s that document ongoing, well rounded programs of history and preservation-related projects.  The award was presented during a meeting of the County Commissioners Court on June 26, 2017 to acknowledge the CHC’s dedicated service and stewardship of its architectural, archeological, and cultural landmarks. 

             “County Historical Commissions act as grassroots leaders for preservation in communities across Texas,” said THC Executive Director Mark Wolfe.  “The Texas Historical Commission presents this Distinguished Service Award to the Medina County Historical Commission to honor its ongoing efforts to save the real places that tell the real stories of Texas.” 

             Texas CHC’s provided more than 468,000 volunteer hours in 2016, which is an in-kind donation to the state valued at more than $11 million.  The THC assists more than 200 CHC’s through programs and services that preserve Texas’ heritage for the education, enjoyment, and economic benefit of present and future generations.  The THC’s advisory role to CHC’s is outlined in the Texas Local Government Code, the statute that enables County Commissioners Courts to establish CHC’s.  The Volunteer appointees, as directed by county officials, initiate and conduct programs that preserve the historic and cultural resources of Texas.

             For more information about CHC’s in Texas, visit or contact the History Programs Division at 512-463-5853. 

Copyright © {{YEAR}} {{COUNTY}} {{STATE}}

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM